Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

citywave® pro Tokyo at Sporu Shinagawa

15. July 2019 - 16. July 2019

Citywave pro World Tour goes Tokyo / Munich riversurfers Janina Zeitler and Lenny Weinhold win in Japan

(17.07.2019) Surf contest in the middle of Tokyo: despite rainy weather, around 5,000 spectators celebrated their stars on the standing wave in the heart of Tokyo on Monday and Tuesday. 50 top athletes from seven nations competed at the fourth stop of the citywave® pro World Tour (CPWT) in the SPORU Shinagawa sports ground. Divided into three categories (men, women, Masters +40) athletes competed for a total prize money of 10.000 Euros and valuable ranking points for the final of the CPTW 2020.

With impressive moves and tricks the professional surfers thrilled the spectators on site and thousands of Japanese fans on the TV screens. The most impressive performance came from the Munich riversurfer Janina Zeitler (DE), who lived up to her favorites role: After the high score of 20.0 points in the semifinals, she was able to dominate in the final as well taking the victory in front of Sophie Puchta (DE) and local hero Yuna Nomura (JP). After winning in Hadera and Vienna Lenny Weinhold (DE) secured his third Tour victory in the men’s category. He relegated his competitors, the Munich Eisbach legend and multiple European Champion in Stationary Wave Riding Tao Schirrmacher (DE), and Nicolas Marusa (DE) to second and third place. Weinhold continues to build on his lead in the “Race to Tokyo”. World skimboard champion Austin Keen (USA) ended up on the seventh place.

Stuttgart’s Ralf Oberpaur (DE) dominated the Masters class with his 360 combos and made the first place in front of Tomo Yonezave (JP) and Kazunari Miyagi (JP) from Japan.

“It was incredibly fun to surf in Tokyo,” said Lennard Weinhold. “The wave is unique, very powerful and fast, for sure the best standing wave out there. The enthusiasm of the Japanese surfers and the audience was unbelievable. A great event! ”


   Winners of citywave® pro Tokyo


  1. Janina Zeitler (GER)
  2. Sophie Puchta (GER)
  3. Yuna Nomura (JPN)
  4. Emi Sato (JPN)


  1. Lenny Weinhold (GER)
  2. Tao Schirrmacher (GER)
  3. Nicolas Marusa (GER)
  4. Jan Vogt (GER)


  1. Ralf Oberpaur (GER)
  2. Tomo Yonezawa (JPN)
  3. Kazunari Miyagi (JPN)
  4. Yoshitada Shinkawa (JPN)


Results Women
Results Men
Results Masters



In case of any Questions please contact cpwt@citywave.de





15. July 2019
16. July 2019


Action Team Veranstaltungs GmbH


citywave Tokyo
2 Chome-1-19 Hiromachi, Shinagawa City
Tokyo, 0005 Japan
+ Google Map